Wee Georgie Wood Steam Railway
Murchison Highway, Tullah
Ph: 0417 142 724

What would it have been like to take a train to one of Tasmania’s most isolated communities during the early 20th century? Experience it for yourself on the Wee Georgie Wood Steam Railway.

Named after the short-statured British comedian, Wee Georgie Wood is a 1924 Fowler built, 610mm (2ft) gauge, narrow gauge steam locomotive that operated on the North Mt Farrell Tramway, linking Tullah to the outside world via Farrell Siding on the Emu Bay Railway line on the West Coast of Tasmania.

Wee Georgie Wood was one of two steam locomotives that operated for the tramway between 1908 and 1962, when the first stage of the new Murchison Highway from Rosebery reached Tullah and the original tramway ceased operations. The 1.6 kilometre nostalgic journey will take you along part of the original tramway route around Tullah and towards Lake Rosebery.

The Wee Georgie Wood Steam Railway collection includes the six ton Fowler loco, a partly restored 10 ton Krauss locomotive built in 1908 and two heritage passenger cars. An ex-Mt Lyell 1925 Romeo built mechanical diesel locomotive from the Lake Margaret line tramway has been leased to operate whilst Wee Georgie Wood is undergoing major repairs.

Operating times: Last weekend of the month 10am-3pm, from October to June inclusive, plus first Sunday of each month.Special operations can be arranged, please call.